Problem Updating Conda/Anaconda

Hello,

I’m using Conda/Anaconda on Mac (latest OS) with the command line (zsh). Apologies, I’m fairly new to it all. I’m trying to keep everything up to date. What’d be the commands to do that?

This is what I found and understand:
Conda is the package manager; Anaconda is the distribution/repository of packages.

conda update anaconda # Updates Anaconda distrib itself & package manager.
conda update --all # Updates all packages in current active env; doesn't update Anaconda distribution.

As I understand it, conda update conda updates the Conda package manager, but is usually not required, as conda update anaconda typically updates both the Anaconda distribution and Conda package manager. Is this all correct so far?

My problem:
Since I installed Conda/Anaconda, I’ve had no problem running the following weekly to keep everything up to date:

conda update anaconda
conda update --all

But, today, I got this error:

cpenning@IC-HV4FFK3XL1 ~ % conda activate                
(base) cpenning@IC-HV4FFK3XL1 ~ % conda update anaconda      

PackageNotInstalledError: Package is not installed in prefix.
  prefix: /Users/cpenning/anaconda3
  package name: anaconda

I haven’t knowingly changed anything to cause this error. What’s the problem? I haven’t got any clarity by googling the error.

I definitely have Anaconda installed and the following runs fine:

(base) cpenning@IC-HV4FFK3XL1 ~ % conda --version            
conda 23.7.4
(base) cpenning@IC-HV4FFK3XL1 ~ % conda update conda
Collecting package metadata (current_repodata.json): done
Solving environment: done

# All requested packages already installed.

(base) cpenning@IC-HV4FFK3XL1 ~ % conda update --all
Collecting package metadata (current_repodata.json): done
Solving environment: done

# All requested packages already installed.

I’d be very grateful for help, please. Thank you.

Hello,

‘anaconda’; is a separate package from ‘conda’.

Try this: