Anaconda 3 Folder location - Troubleshooting help or uninstall? (MacOS Ventura)

I’m a novice with Anaconda. The other day I think I was trying to tidy up my files and may have inadvertently moved the Anaconda 3 folder to a new location. Now Anaconda won’t launch at all and even the icon’s gone in the application list. I was going to uninstall the whole program following the uninstall instructions. but when I try to run conda install anaconda-clean in terminal
I get an error message saying zsh: command not found: conda. I don’t want to make a further mistake from here and don’t understand bash and zsh. To get Anaconda working again, perhaps it’s just a case of having the Anaconda 3 folder moved back to the right folder location and everything will work again?.. Any advice on what to do for the best gratefully received. Sorry to ask such a basic question… I’m happy with either a working Anaconda installed or with an uninstall, but I can’t run it or delete it at the moment.

1 Like

dear David.

Thank you for your contribution to the anaconda community. ,

First of all, without rushing, let’s check the contents of the folder in the hard disk of your PC.

There are several possible patterns, so it’s difficult to answer one by one, but here are some common patterns:

1. Deleted.
    In this case it’s easy, just remove the anacoda startup script in zsh or bash. Then install it again and it will be back.

2.It has moved.
In this case, it will be troublesome, but please try the following method. In addition, bash is used as the base.

>>> conda initialize >>>

!! Contents within this block are managed by ‘conda init’ !!

__conda_setup=“$(‘/xxx/yyy/anaconda3/bin/conda’ ‘shell.bash’ ‘hook’ 2> /dev/null)”
if [ $? -eq 0 ]; then
eval “$__conda_setup”
else
if [ -f “/xxx/yyy/anaconda3/etc/profile.d/conda.sh” ]; then
. “/xxx/yyy/anaconda3/etc/profile.d/conda.sh”
else
export PATH=“/xxxx/yyy/anaconda3/bin:$PATH”
fi
fi
unset __conda_setup