Pandas not installed

I have installed Anaconda individual as per the tutorial getting started …i see Pandas’ how ever when i do import panda as pd there is error message no Panda’s installed

Please provide support

3 Likes

I am having the same problem. I can install a package within the IDE or run the program from Anaconda prompt but when I try run the program from a command prompt window I get an error that the module cannot be found.

1 Like

I am having the same problem. I can install a package within the IDE or run the program from Anaconda prompt but when I try run the program from a command prompt window I get an error that the module cannot be found.

2 Likes

I managed to resolve this. The issue is an environment issue when you are running from the command prompt and not a package issue.

You don’t need to understand how to work with environments for this solve but it will help to have a basic understanding of what they are. I’ve broken down the steps for a complete beginner as I was when I ran into this problem first.

Because python was installed through Anaconda, you need to activate the Anaconda base environment in the command prompt before running a python program. In simple terms this tells your system where to locate all the files you need, such as the python.exe file and the various packages you installed. You will need to do this every time you try run a python program through the command prompt so the best way to do it is to create a .bat file (an executable file that runs multiple lines of code of in the command prompt). You can then just double click that file and it will run your python program.

Lets say you are wanting to run a program called myProgram.py

1. Create a new text file, change the name of the file to run.bat
  2. Right click and edit the file. Save the below text written between the dashed lines into the file (do not include the dashed lines):

call “C:\Users\YourName\anaconda3\condabin\activate.bat”