Anaconda 2023.03 is causing major problems

Anaconda 2023.03 is causing major problems.
The installation succeeds, but an update using ‘conda update --all’ destroys the entire installation.
I found an instruction on the web that helped me get around the problem, but… Jupyter Notebook can’t find the autopep8 library even though the library is installed. Jupyter extension jupyter_contrib_nbextensions does not work at all.

I tried several times to reinstall the Anaconda 2023.03 version and every time the same problems. In the end, I uninstalled Anaconda and decided to switch to another company’s Python release, which works perfectly.

1 Like

Same. I am a newbie in learning Data Science. I was running the 2022 version. When I downloaded the installer for 2023.03 and tried to install it on the same folder as the previous one, it said it couldn’t proceed as the folder was not empty. Then I uninstalled it and installed 2023.03. Problems like yours started occurring, namely the “using ‘conda update --all’ destroys the entire installation”. Had to uninstall it completely in safe mode and reinstall it. The first step I did after reinstall was to set the solver to libmamba solver using the instructions here. Now it is working fine for me with Python 3.10.10, although I haven’t tried it with Python 3.11.2 yet.

Thanks for the help. With your advice, I got the update to work and python also came to life. Unfortunately, the joy was too early. Jupyter Notebook again announced that it could not find the autopep8 module. On the Internet I found instructions on how to correct the situation. I followed the instructions and restarted my notebook. This time there was an immediate notification about the lack of a widget module. I reinstalled the module and turned on the Notebook. Did not start but gave an error message about the sqlite module! Enough was enough! I removed Anaconda and decided to use other instruments for the time being.