Anaconda will no longer update after 2.0.3, 2.1.1, 2020.07

I’ve been using Anaconda pretty heavily since 2016 and while it does run on three different machines for stable tests… not one of them will update for two or three years now. I tried earlier this week and it ran for hours and hours just saying ‘updating package on root’ They are all MacOs, ranging from HighSierra, Catalina, Mojave, BigSur and I’m not even going to touch Monterey. Most of my code is updating old code, documenting old repos and 3.7 is as far back as i will go but its getting absurd that Anaconda can’t update itself.

My /opt folders are 46gb, 41gb and 43 gb, this is getting out of hand. Yes I work in complicated projects but that is Microsoft Word and Excel level of bloat.

I posted the stack trace from both attempts to do a clean install and both failed. Here is that link

So the instructions from anaconda/install/ update-version/ say that I’ve got to go through my bash_profile to delete them… why am I doing that? Why is anaconda expecting its own users do debug its own detailed software, isn’t that their job? I’m not being sarcastic for its own sake but puzzled and frustrated, rather genuinely asking why I have to do this level of detail, when I load an app it installs itself and maybe some ancillary files are left over. Anaconda is like a packrat of everything, I had five different folders to remove outside of /anaconda and /opt. Why are there so many?